Thou Art the Christ.

Proudly declaring is one thing I loved so much about my mission, and now being an RM with the tools to know how to continue to declare.

Image result for Thou art the christ art

Matthew 16

13 ¶When Jesus came into the coasts of Cæsarea Philippi, he asked his disciples, saying, Whom do men say that I the Son of man am?

 14 And they said, Some say that thou art John the Baptist: some, Elias; and others, Jeremias, or one of the prophets.

 15 He saith unto them, But whom say ye that I am?

16 And Simon Peter answered and said, Thou art the Christ, the Son of the living God.

What does it mean to me to proudly declare/be a true Disciple:

  • Not worrying about who is greatest. (Mark 9:35)
  • Have Faith and Doubt not (Matthew 21:21)
    • I read a talk on doubting this week by Elder Jeffrey Holland called “Lord, I Believe.” In it Elder Holland talks about the fact that we all do have doubts, that we eventually face questions and that is okay. But we are not to be proud of our doubts and put them before our faith. He states, “I would say to all who wish for more faith, remember this man [speaking of the father from Mark 9]! In moments of fear or doubt or troubling times, hold the ground you have already won, even if that ground is limited. In the growth we all have to experience in mortality, the spiritual equivalent of this boy’s affliction or this parent’s desperation is going to come to all of us. When those moments come and issues surface, the resolution of which is not immediately forthcoming, hold fast to what you already know and stand strong until additional knowledge comes.”  
    • And to quote my current favorite song by Katy Perry called Rise-
    • “Oh, ye of so little faith
      Don’t doubt it, don’t doubt it
      Victory is in my veins
      I know it, I know it
      And I will not negotiate
      I’ll fight it, I’ll fight it
      I will transform”
  • Trust in Christ enough to follow Him and believe in His promises. (Matthew 14)
    • I think too often we crave immediate and believe that we need to see the proof before we follow. We are the ones who need to reach out and touch Christ without proof but with faith in not only Him but also in what He promises. He promises that if we reach He will receive swiftly and heal.
    • Elder Bednar said in His 2016 October talk titled “If Ye Had Known Me.”-
    • “The exercise of faith in Jesus Christ is relying upon His merits, mercy, and grace.7 We begin to come to know the Savior as we arouse our spiritual faculties and experiment upon His teachings, even until we can give place in our souls for a portion of His words.8 As our faith in the Lord increases, we trust in Him and have confidence in His power to redeem, heal, and strengthen us.”
  • Lose your life in Christ (Luke 17:33)
    • I remember on my mission a time when I was really struggling and I felt like I was being held back by something. I went and got a blessing and in the blessing it said I had been more diligent at times on my mission than I was at other times. When I was driving home and that whole weekend I was so frustrated with God. I thought I had really given my all on my mission, I mean I wasn’t perfect, but I didn’t understand. I thought He said He saw our hearts and not our numbers. So I was listening to a talk one day and it hit me. It wasn’t that I wasn’t as diligent at the work, but that me turning humbly in prayer to my Father in Heaven was something I was lacking. At some points on my mission I was so good at really praying with full intent, and at other points I was more going through the motions.
  • Be Forgiving (Luke 17:3-4)
    • Being unforgiving is only drinking your own poison, one of my favorite quotes ever.
  • Move forward and don’t return to your sins (Luke 17:31-32)
    • Elder Holland said in his talk “Remember Lot’s Wife.”
    • “It is possible that Lot’s wife looked back with resentment toward the Lord for what He was asking her to leave behind. We certainly know that Laman and Lemuel were resentful when Lehi and his family were commanded to leave Jerusalem. So it isn’t just that she looked back; she looked back longingly. In short, her attachment to the past outweighed her confidence in the future. That, apparently, was at least part of her sin.”
  • Take up your cross (Luke 9:25)
    • Image result for take up your cross and follow me
  • Confessing Christ (Luke 12 JST)

So one thing I wanted to really point out is that it is okay to have doubts and question, but do not let them shake the ground you have already one. State what you believe first. You believe that Jesus is the Christ, that Joseph Smith was a prophet, and that the Book of Mormon is true. Then breathe. Pray. And ask humbly for strength to understand and patient until further knowledge is reveled. There is always hope. Stay true to what you know, and you will not be swayed.

 

One thought on “Thou Art the Christ.

  1. Kay Cory says:

    Oh my goodness Hatti, you are incredible. Keep the inspiration coming. I love it. Just got out of hospital with Bronchitis, and need your inspiration. Love ya to pieces…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

