Hump day…

This week was a week of emotions. It all started really on Thursday. We were at an investigators baptismal interview and I got a text from the sisters in my past ward telling me that a member that I really loved had passed away. I was really close to his family and it has broken my heart. I then had to not say anything for a couple of hours because we had so much to do. And then I finally broke and told my companion. We still went out and knocked and I just prayed for strength because I physically couldn’t do anything. Then Friday was my nine month mark…that’s crazy. I got to spend the day with one of my favorite Sisters, Krebs, and just rest for a day. Then Saturday we had Rylee Murray’s baptism, which is one of the most incredible baptisms of my entire mission! Rylee is a 12 year old little girl who was a part of a very less active family. When I was in Olympia at the start of my mission I got to know her and her family really well and truly loved them. My second week here in Olympia again Rylee and her grandma came up to me and asked me and my companion to teach her because she can get baptized now. We taught her and I got to speak twice at her baptism. The first time I just shared my testimony and experience with their family. Then I got to talk about the Holy Ghost. I shared 2 Nephi 2:2-11

And again, more blessed are they who shall believe in your words because that ye shall testify that ye have seen me, and that ye know that I am. Yea, blessed are they who shall believe in your words , and come down into the depths of humility and be baptized, for they shall be visited with fire…

3Yea, blessed are the poor in spirit who come unto me, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.

4And again, blessed are all they that mourn , for they shall be comforted .

5And blessed are the meek , for they shall inherit the earth .

6And blessed are all they who do hunger and thirst after righteousness , for they shall be filled with the Holy Ghost.

7And blessed are the merciful , for they shall obtain mercy.

8And blessed are all the pure in heart, for they shall see God.

9And blessed are all the peacemakers , for they shall be called the children of God.

10And blessed are all they who are persecuted for my name’s sake, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.

11And blessed are ye when men shall revile you and persecute, and shall say all manner of evil against you falsely, for my sake

The part that hit me while I was sharing it was the blessed are all they that mourn, for they shall be comforted. At first I thought it was for me. And then I realized that the family that is suffering from the loss of their dad is being comforted by the Holy Ghost and I did not need to be there to comfort them. I just feel so blessed to know that because of this gospel I know that there is no end to us. We will see each other again. Because of Christ we will live again, Brother McCloud is just one step ahead in the plan. He is now with his Heavenly Father as we all will be. I am not happy he is gone, but I am at peace at the knowledge that his family will all be together again and the grave has no sting. The pain I feel is but a small moment. John 14:27.

7Peace I leave with you, my peace I give unto you: not as the world giveth, give I unto you. Let not your heart be troubled , neither let it be afraid.

I love you all, and just remember that this pain we feel in this life will bless us in the eternal scheme of things. Eternal perspective.

Sister Carr

Leave a Reply

